Murray ousted as TTCB president

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad,  CMC – High profile Trinidad and  Tobago Cricket Board president Deryck Murray lost his bid for re-election yesterday when he was swept from power in a stunning upset following elections at the annual general meeting.

The former West Indies vice-captain, who has led the TTCB for the last four years, was defeated 26-23 by out-going first vice-president Azim Bassarath, in what was a bruising campaign in the run up to the polls.

Bassarath’s team, dubbed the “Movement of Change”, made a clean sweep of nearly all the top TTCB posts, taking 10 of the 11 positions contested overall.
Another major casualty was Board secretary Forbes Persaud who lost by two votes to former executive Board member Arjoon Ramlal. The outspoken Persaud also serves as chief executive of the TTCB.

“Democracy has prevailed. The board members have spoken,” a disappointed Persaud said…


Other News

No Comment.

Add Your Comments:

  1. [...] Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) president Azim Bassarath and former West Indies pacer Tony Gray have both agreed with the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) [...]