The selection panel of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has named a 13-member squad for the two Twenty20 matches versus India, scheduled for August 27 and 28 in Florida.

The squad reads:

1.    Andre Fletcher

2.    Andre Russell

3.    Carlos Brathwaite

4.    Chris Gayle

5.    Dwayne Bravo

6.    Evin Lewis

7.    Jason Holder

8.    Johnson Charles

9.    Kieron Pollard

10. Lendl Simmons

11. Marlon Samuels

12. Samuel Badree

13. Sunil Narine

All-rounder, Brathwaite been appointed captain for the two matches which will be played at the Central Broward Regional Park, Fort Lauderdale.

“Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,” said Chairman of Selectors, Courtney Browne.

“We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches,” the Chairman added. The selection panel has expressed its thanks to former captain, Daren Sammy for his leadership of that format of the game for the two World Championship titles in 2012 and earlier this year.

With regards to Sammy’s omission from the squad, the Chairman noted that the named-squad was selected purely on players’ performances.

Prior to the matches in Florida, the squad, all retained players and franchise players in all six regions will participate in a players’ symposium on Wednesday, August 24 to look at the role of players and their responsibilities leading up to 2018.

The Test team will start their third match of the four-match series in St. Lucia tomorrow August 9. The fourth and final Test is scheduled for Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago, August 18 – 22. India won the first Test in Antigua and drew the second in Jamaica. India leads the series 1-0.

Related News

1 comment so far

Add Your Comments:

  1. During what period were the selectors basing the players performance? If they were to judge a player during the period of the ICC T20 World Cup or IPL then why are people like Holder and Lewis on the team. Holder didn’t play at all during the T20 World Cup and basically stunk during the IPL with the bat and ball. Lewis played one match during the T20 World Cup and went for a duck.

    Now if they picked the players based on their form in the CPL then is Samuels, Holder and Brathwaite on the team when they barely or didn’t even play. Sammy played well with the bat and ball. At the end of the day the members of the Broad and the selection panel are cowards and lairs. They don’t want to reveal the real reason why the let go one of the best skippers they ever had. Once someone talk the true about them they are quick to let go of that player instead of changing their behaviour so several players wouldn’t have to air the Broad’s dirty laundry in public.