A total of 15 local cricket umpires from Antigua & Barbuda Cricket Umpires Association will be heading to St Lucia to attend the 25th Biennial Convention of the West Indies Cricket Umpires Association (WICUA) to be held from July 16 to 23.

The Antiguan umpires will join 13 of their counterparts from the other Leeward Islands, including seven from St Kitts; two from Nevis; two from St Maarten; one from Tortola; and one from St Croix. There will also be representatives from the Windwards, Jamaica, Barbados, Guyana, The Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, Trinidad and Tobago and the USA.

One of the main items on the agenda will be the election of a new president since the current president, world-renowned umpire Steve Bucknor, will not seek re-election.

Two candidates have been nominated for that position – a former president, Hartley Reid of Barbados and Cecil Fletcher of Jamaica.

The present executive of the WICUA consists of Secretary Vivian Johnson of Jamaica; Treasurer/Assistant Secretary Norman Malcolm of Jamaica; Executive Vice President Tony Lalacksingh of Trinidad and Tobago, and Training and Examination Officer Clyde Cumberbatch also of Trinidad and Tobago…


Related News

No Comment.

Add Your Comments: